Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


30 October 2012

Winger Jacob Murphy handed first call-up for England Under-19s

NORWICH City youngster Jacob Murphy has been called up to Noel Blake’s England Under-19s squad for a friendly with Finland on Tuesday, November 13 at The New Bucks Head Stadium.

After impressing alongside twin brother Josh in a 20-minute substitute appearance for the Under-18s side in a 2-0 win over Italy earlier this month, Jacob has been drafted in to replace Crewe Alexandra’s Max Clayton, who has withdrawn through injury.

The 17-year-old winger has performed well for Scott Marshall’s Under-21s development squad so far this campaign, and will again be given an opportunity to continue his progression with the Young Lions as they prepare for next year’s Euro Elite Qualifying Round.

After progressing through the first qualifying stage, Blake’s side now await the draw for the Elite Round in December. The Finals will be staged in Lithuania next summer.

On the recent call ups for Jacob and Josh Murphy, City’s U-21s manager Marshall commented: “They’ve shown they can do well at U-21s level for Norwich, so why not? It’s a great way of making sure the lads are progressing. International experience is a real help in their development.

“Both Josh and Jacob came on at the same time for England’s U-18s against Italy the other day, so that will have been a nice family photo if anyone has got that somewhere.

“With Jacob playing at U-21s level for Norwich, he is getting the opportunity to catch people’s eye a little bit, which is good. 

“As long as they’re learning from it and coming back ready to put the work in on the training field like they have been doing then it’s great.”

The match is set to take place at AFC Telford United’s New Bucks Head Stadium on Tuesday, November 13 at 7.30pm, with tickets priced at £3 for adults and £1 for concessions.

For more details please visit the FA website here.

England U-19 squad in full:

Ben Garratt (Crewe Alexandra), Jordan Pickford (Sunderland).

Eric Dier (Sporting Lisbon), Jack O'Connell (Blackburn Rovers), Daniel Potts (West Ham United),Jack Stephens (Southampton), John Stones (Barnsley), Adam Webster (Portsmouth).

Calum Chambers (Southampton), Raheem Hanley (Blackburn Rovers), John Lundstram(Everton), Nathan Redmond (Birmingham City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Adebayo Azeez (Charlton Athletic), Jack Barmby (Manchester United), Jacob Murphy (Norwich City), Dominic Samuel (Reading), Blair Turgott (West Ham United).

Advertisement block