Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


21 August 2014

Essential reading on this weekend's opponents


Nickname: The Tractor Boys
Manager: Mick McCarthy
2013/14: 9th
Ground: Portman Road
Fastest road route from Carrow Road: 44.5 miles (1 hour 6 minutes)


Ipswich’s 12th consecutive season in English football’s second tier ended with them falling just short of the Sky Bet Championship Play-Offs last year, finishing in ninth place on 68 points.

Mick McCarthy strengthened his squad to the tune of six new players over the summer, with Balint Bajner and Kevin Bru moving to Portman Road from abroad and Alex Henshall, Cameron Stewart, Jonathan Parr and Bartosz Bialkowski also joining.

They have sampled every outcome from their three matches so far this season.

A promising opening day home win over relegated Fulham was followed up by defeat at Reading and then an entertaining 2-2 at Birmingham City, where defender Christophe Berra bagged a brace, including a stoppage time leveller.

McCarthy’s men were beaten by Crawley Town in the Round One of the Capital One Cup, with the League One side subsequently being been drawn away to the Canaries.

Town have won one top flight title, in 1962, with FA Cup (1978) and UEFA Cup (1981) triumphs also strings on their bow.

Town went for the assurances that come with experience when they appointed Mick McCarthy to replace Paul Jewell in November 2012.

It worked, with the former Republic of Ireland boss guiding the Suffolk club away from the Championship relegation places and to a 14th place finish.

Last season’s ninth place bedded him fully into his role, and he and assistant Terry Connor were rewarded with new three-year contracts this summer.

As a player, McCarthy was an uncompromising defender for hometown club Barnsley, Manchester City, Celtic, Lyon, Millwall and Ireland, for whom he earned 57 caps after qualifying through his Irish father.

After starting his managerial career at Millwall, he succeeded Jackie Charlton as manager of his national team in 1996, memorably guiding them to the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea.

Generally successful and lengthy stints in the hot seat at Sunderland and Wolverhampton Wanderers preceded his move to Portman Road.

Goalkeepers: Dean Gerken, Bartosz Bialkowski.

Defenders: Jonathan Parr, Tyrone Mings, Luke Chambers (c), Tommy Smith, Christophe Berra, Elliott Hewitt, Matt Clarke.

Midfielders: Cameron Stewart, Cole Skuse, Paul Anderson, Stephen Hunt, Kevin Bru, Jay Tabb, Luke Hyam, Anthony Wordsworth, Alex Henshall, Byron Lawrence, Teddy Bishop.

Forwards: Daryl Murphy, David McGoldrick, Balint Bajner, Darren McQueen, Conor Sammon, Frank Nouble.

Advertisement block