Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


6 May 2015

Essential reading on this weekend's opponents


Nickname: The Tractor Boys
Manager: Mick McCarthy
2013-14: 9th
Ground: Portman Road
Fastest road route from Carrow Road: 44.5 miles (1 hour 6 minutes)

Ipswich Town secured a play-off place on the final day of the regular campaign despite a 3-2 defeat at Blackburn Rovers.

Sixth place was confirmed as theirs after Derby were beaten 3-0 by Reading and Wolves failed to make up their goal difference deficit.

Five wins in their final 13 matches proved just enough after a progressive season in Mick McCarthy's second full campaign in charge at Portman Road.

Town edge the head-to-head record between the two teams with 40 victories to City's 38, although the Canaries have won the previous four meetings.

Those clashes include Norwich's 1-0 success at Portman Road in August, as Lewis Grabban's header took the visitors to the top of a fledgling league table. Read the Match Report from that game HERE.

Town have won one top flight title, in 1962, with FA Cup (1978) and UEFA Cup (1981) triumphs also strings on their bow.


Ipswich went for the assurances that come with experience when they appointed Mick McCarthy to replace Paul Jewell in November 2012.

It worked, with the former Republic of Ireland boss guiding the Suffolk club away from the Championship relegation places and to a 14th place finish.

Last season’s ninth place bedded him fully into his role, and he and assistant Terry Connor were rewarded with new three-year contracts last summer.

As a player, McCarthy was an uncompromising defender for hometown club Barnsley, Manchester City, Celtic, Lyon, Millwall and Ireland, for whom he earned 57 caps after qualifying through his Irish father.

After starting his managerial career at Millwall, he succeeded Jackie Charlton as manager of his national team in 1996, memorably guiding them to the 2002 World Cup in Japan and South Korea.

Generally successful and lengthy stints in the hot seat at Sunderland and Wolverhampton Wanderers preceded his move to Portman Road.


Goalkeepers: Dean Gerken, Bartosz Bialkowski, Paddy Kenny.

Defenders: Jonathan Parr, Tyrone Mings, Luke Chambers (c), Tommy Smith, Christophe Berra, Zeki Fryers, Elliott Hewitt, Matt Clarke, Ben Wyatt.

Midfielders: Cole Skuse, Paul Anderson, Stephen Hunt, Richard Chaplow, Kevin Bru, Jay Tabb, Luke Hyam, Alex Henshall, Dylan Connolly, Teddy Bishop, Darren Ambrose, Kundai Benyu.

Forwards: Daryl Murphy, David McGoldrick, Luke Varney, Noel Hunt, Freddie Sears, Darren McQueen.

Advertisement block