Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


10 September 2015

Match represents 'a good marker' - Eddie Howe

Nickname: The Cherries
Manager: Eddie Howe
2014-15: 1st (Sky Bet Championship)
Ground: Vitality Stadium

Bournemouth manager Eddie Howe knows his side face a stern challenge when they travel to Carrow Road on Saturday (3pm).

Speaking in his pre-match press conference, Howe said: "Norwich have proven they're going to be competitive this year.

"They are well managed, so it will be a tough test. The game will be a good marker for us to see how much we have improved over the summer."

Howe guided Bournemouth to the Sky Bet Championship title last season, completing a journey which saw them narrowly preserve their Football League status in 2009.

Callum Wilson joined the Cherries in the summer of 2014 on a four-year deal from his hometown club Coventry City.

The 23-year-old went on to strike 20 times in the league in his maiden Sky Bet Championship season, adding three further goals in cup competitions.

Wilson made his Coventry debut aged just 17 in a League Cup tie against Hartlepool in 2009, but it was during the 2013-14 campaign that his goalscoring exploits hit the headlines.

He struck 22 times in all competitions for the Sky Blues before Bournemouth made their move that July.

Bournemouth were denied three points by a late Leicester City equaliser at the Vitality Stadium prior to the international break.

Wilson had put Howe's team ahead with a bicycle kick midway through the first half, the striker's fourth goal of the Premier League season.

Serious injuries suffered by summer recruits Max Gradel and Tyrone Mings disrupted their rhythm, however, with the visitors growing into the game in the second half.

Steve Cook tripped Jamie Vardy in the box with four minutes left on the clock, and the Foxes' England frontman dispatched the spot-kick himself to divide the spoils.


Goalkeepers: Artur Boruc, Ryan Allsop, Adam Federici.

Defenders: Simon Francis, Steve Cook, Tommy Elphick (c), Charlie Daniels, Tyrone Mings, Adam Smith, Sylvain Distin, Baily Cargill, Joe Bennett.

Midfielders: Dan Gosling, Andrew Surman, Marc Pugh, Harry Arter, Max Gradel, Shaun MacDonald, Junior Stanislas, Matt Ritchie, Eunan O'Kane.

Attackers: Tokelo Rantie, Callum Wilson, Joshua King, Yann Kermorgant, Christian Atsu, Lee Tomlin, Glenn Murray.

Advertisement block