Skip to main content Skip to site footer


6 July 2016

Biggest ever Summer Cup welcomes over 2,000 young footballers

A RECORD 253 teams took part in this year’s Summer Cup last weekend.
The seventeenth event of CSF’s flagship youth football tournament welcomed over 2,000 young competitors and up to 5,000 spectators to Easton & Otley College across the two days.
Among those soaking up the atmosphere of the event were Norwich City’s Russell Martin and John Ruddy.
The pair met many of the young participants and their families, while the City skipper also spent some time with CSF’s disability PDC squad - who were on a residential at the venue, having hosted a mini-tournament on the Saturday.
On the field of play, with the largest ever field in tournament history, the push for silverware in the competitive age-groups was always going to be fierce.
Saturday’s action saw Aylsham FC’s U10s team make it two trophies in successive years, defeating Sprowston FC in the U10 decider, while Old Catton FC secured the U12 title for a second year in a row.
The Lakeford Rangers U14 team – who narrowly lost out in the U13 final last year – took home the Summer Cup silverware this time around, edging Morley FC in the final.
On the Sunday, Waveney FC required penalties to claim the U9 title against Wymondham Town United, while Taverham FC’s U13 team defeated Old Catton to record the club’s eighth Summer Cup victory since 2000.
Lastly, Firside Athletic defeated Gorleston FC in the U11 age group final.
Dan Goffin, Football Development Officer, said: "I’d like to thank the players, coaches and supporters for creating a terrific atmosphere over the weekend, and for being part of the biggest Summer Cup in its history.
"The Cup is an important recruitment tool for our Player Development programmes and we saw a lot of talented young footballers on display over course of the weekend."
Thank you to Holden Motor Group, Link Radio Services, 4Sports group, Errea and Easton & Otley College for supporting this year’s event.
Winners 2016
Under 7s & Under 8s – Non competitive
Under 9s – Winners:  Waveney FC Runners Up: Wymondham Town Utd
Under 10s – Winners: Aylsham FC  Runners Up: Sprowston FC
Under 11s – Winners: Firside Athletic FC  Runners Up: Gorleston FC
Under 12s – Winners: Old Catton JFC  Runners Up: Rocklands FC
Under 13s – Winners: Taverham United  Runners Up: Old Catton FC
Under 14s – Winners: Lakeford Rangers FC  Runners Up: Morley FC

Advertisement block