Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


3 November 2016

Our guide to The Peacocks

NORWICH City host Leeds United on Saturday November 5 (3pm) in the Sky Bet Championship.

Here we take a look at what City will come up against this weekend.

Garry Monk arrived at Leeds earlier this season after the departure of Steve Evans, claiming his first managerial job since his time at Swansea came to an end in December 2015.

City boss Alex Neil played alongside the Leeds chief in 2004 at Barnsley.

The Whites have won seven and drawn two thus far in the Sky Bet Championship and Monk has guided his side to the quarter finals of the EFL Cup.

Monk's side will be weaker than he'd like: "Stuart Dallas and Liam Bridcutt are out, Lewie Coyle and Tyler Denton have joined them and won't be avaliable."

The Leeds boss is happy with his team's preparation for their trip to Carrow Road however, adding: "We have had a good full week of training, everyone has been focused and worked well.

"Norwich is a difficult place to go, for me they have one of the best squads and they will be looking to bounce back," Monk told LUTV.

Chris Wood is certainly United's dangerman coming into the weekend's game, as he's the sides leading goalscorer this season.

Wood joined West Bromwich Albion in 2009 and in his four year spell at the Baggies he went on loan to six different clubs before transferring to Leicester in 2013 after a successful loan period there.

After his fair share of loan moves, Wood seems to have found his calling at Leeds, having scored ten goals in all competitions so far this season.

The Peacocks' forward made an impact in his side's recent meeting with City at Elland Road in the EFL Cup after coming on as a substitute 67 minutes in, netting the equaliser in extra-time and scoring his penalty in the shootout.

Goalkeepers: Robert Green, Marco Silvestri, Ross Turnbull, Bailey Peacock-Farrell.

Defenders: Luke Ayling, Kyle Bartley, Liam Cooper, Pontus Jansson, Charlie Taylor, Gaetano Beradi, Lewie Coyle, Tyler Denton.

Midfielders: Toumani Diagouraga, Luke Murphy, Eunan O'Kane, Stuart Dallas, Matt Grimes, Pablo Hernandez, Kalvin Phillips, Hadi Sacko, Ronaldo Viera, Liam Bridcutt, Alex Mowatt.

Forwards: Kemar Roofe, Chris Wood, Marcus Antonsson, Souleymane Doukara.

Advertisement block