Skip to main content Skip to site footer


6 March 2017

Our guide to the Robins

NORWICH City travel to Bristol City on Tuesday, March 7 (7:45pm) in the Sky Bet Championship. 

Here, we take a look at what City will come up against at Ashton Gate.

Bristol City manager Lee Johnson is wary of a potential backlash from the Canaries on Tuesday evening following their heavy weekend defeat at Sheffield Wednesday. 

"Norwich could be a dangerous wounded animal but it's about what we do," Johnson told the media on Monday morning.

"We know the pressure is on and we know we have to produce results. The fans were fantastic on Saturday and it helped the players.

"We'll need the same tomorrow. We just want this result so much for everyone, to make us all feel better."

Jonny Howson scored the only goal as Norwich City edged to a 1-0 success over Bristol City at Carrow Road earlier this season.

The midfielder side-footed past goalkeeper seven minutes before the interval, with his strike ultimately enough to give the Canaries all three points.

Howson's goal came after Alex Tettey had already struck the post, while Bristol's Jonathan Kodjia also struck the woodwork.

Norwich threatened to add more to their tally in the latter stages; Wes Hoolahan being denied by Robins goalkeeper Richard O'Donnell as his effort was tipped onto the post.

That meant City had to settle for a 1-0 victory which brought an end to their opponents' 100 per cent start to the campaign. 

The club was founded in 1894 as Bristol South End and changed their name to Bristol City on turning professional three years later when they were admitted to the Southern League.

In 1934 they won the Welsh Cup, contesting an all-English final against Tranmere Rovers which they won 3-0 following a replay.

Continuing along that theme, they were regular participants in the Anglo-Scottish Cup winning the 1977-78 trophy when they defeated Sir Alex Ferguson's St Mirren 3-2 in the final on aggregate.

They became the first English club to suffer three consecutive relegations in 1982, with financial problems following as a result.

Gradually moving upwards in more recent times, they became only the second team to win both the third tier title and the Football League Trophy during the same season in 2015.

Goalkeepers: Frank Fielding, Max O'Leary.

Defenders: Mark Little, Joe Bryan, Aden Flint, Derrick Williams, Scott Golbourne, Hordur Magnusson, Lloyd Kelly, Zak Vyner, Adam Matthews, Jens Hegeler, Bailey Wright.

Midfielders: Gary O'Neil, Korey Smith, Josh Brownhill, Callum O'Dowda, Bobby Reid, Marlon Pack, David Cotterill,.

Forwards: Tammy Abraham, Lee Tomlin, Matty Taylor, Gustav Engvall, Aaron Wilbraham, Jamie Paterson, Milan Djuric.

Advertisement block