Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Carabao Cup draw to take place on Friday

14 June 2018

Norwich will find out their first round opponents in the Carabao Cup when the draw takes place in Vietnam on Friday June 15 at 10.45am (UK time).

The draw will take place in Vietnam’s largest city, Ho Chi Minh City.

Seventy EFL Clubs will feature in the new-look draw, which will see teams drawn into Northern and Southern sections. There is no seeding for higher ranked sides as in previous seasons.

Norwich City are ball number 22 in the Southern Section.

Last season, Norwich narrowly missed out on a place in the quarter-finals when they were beaten 2-1 in extra-time by Arsenal at the Emirates.

Matches are scheduled to take place on the week commencing August 13, with West Bromwich Albion included, while Championship newcomers Stoke City and Swansea City will join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

New rule changes have also been introduced for this year’s competition. If scores are level after 90 minutes there will be no extra-time, with matches going straight to penalties. The 2019 final will feature extra time and penalties if required. The format of penalties will revert to the traditional format, as opposed to the recently trialled ABBA formula, which will no longer feature in EFL competitions.

VAR will again be utilised in the competition and can be incorporated for all games that are played at Premier League stadiums, while this season’s Final will take place on Sunday February 24, 2019 with the winners guaranteed a place in the Europa League in the following campaign.

Southern Section ball numbers
1 AFC Wimbledon
2 Aston Villa
3 Birmingham City
4 Brentford
5 Bristol City
6 Bristol Rovers
7 Cambridge United
8 Charlton Athletic
9 Cheltenham Town
10 Colchester United
11 Coventry City
12 Crawley Town
13 Exeter City
14 Forest Green Rovers
15 Gillingham
16 Ipswich Town
17 Luton Town
18 Millwall
19 Milton Keynes Dons
20 Newport County
21 Northampton Town
22 Norwich City
23 Oxford United
24 Peterborough United
25 Plymouth Argyle
26 Portsmouth
27 Queens Park Rangers
28 Reading
29 Southend United
30 Stevenage
31 Swindon Town
32 West Bromwich Albion
33 Wycombe Wanderers
34 Yeovil Town

Advertisement block